A Crazy Week!

I know I have not been here much lately, I will tell you why. Charlotte was in the hospital. She was admitted on Monday and we got home Thursday night. She has the blood disorder I have and her red cell count dropped to 6. It is supposed to be 10 or more. She lost a lot of weight and the doctor was really worried about it. She was sent to the hospital immediately.

While in the hospital she received two blood transfusions and that helped a great deal. She is still on high calorie formula so she can rapidly gain weight because she is underweight right now. I was so worried I could not think straight. I had my lap top but I had to process what exactly was happening with us. She now has hematology appointments and on the 3rd she has her hearing appointment as well. Monday she goes to the pediatrician. So, this is about to get so busy. We are hoping to keep her red cell count  up, by herself. However, if she can not then she will need more blood transfusions. The hematologist will not even think about removing her spleen until she is at least three years old.

She still has her heart murmur and that appointment is in March. We will be at the hematologist every week for a while so they can monitor her. When we left the hospital her red cell count was 10.5, which is where it should be. We will test her on Wednesday to see how far if any it has fallen so we can see the rate that the red cells are being destroyed.

I am exhausted and still worried, but she has some really great medical professionals in her corner. I will try and get here to update on Wednesday after all the appointments have been done.

I need to run, it is time for her to eat!

-Ciao!

Ya'all Said...

