Neurologist Visit

Yesterday I had my neurologist appointment. Finally. I waited months for that appointment and I sure was not going to miss it! My neurologist was sort of surprised to find out that I have had a migraine for five months. Every single day since Charlotte was born. Ugh. Before that it was at most 3-4 times a month. We discussed what my headaches feel like and look like. All the symptoms that I have with them. We talked about the medications I have tried, which is not many recently. My issues with migraine medications is that most of them make you zombie like or knock me out. I can not have that with the kids being home with me. I made that totally clear yesterday and we settled on a plan for the short term.

For the next month I am on Topamax 25mg for the first week, it is one pill at night. After the first week, it is 1 pill in the morning and at night. The office is to call me in a month to find out if it is working for me or not. If it is not we have talked about admitting me to the hospital for 2-3 days and giving me IV drugs to break the cycle. I am hoping to avoid that because honestly, yea. I am to the point that honestly I will do what ever it takes to get rid of this migraine or series of migraines. I honestly have no idea what it means to be headache free. I have no idea what it is like to wake up in the morning and feel good anymore.

I am so tired of being reactionary when it comes to these headaches of mine. Let me be clear, I have been diagnosed with migraines. Unless  you have specific symptoms that come along with the headache, you have a headache and there are different kinds, but you do not have a migraine. One of my pet peeves is that someone who has not been diagnosed will say, oh I have a migraine. No. You have a headache. If  you can take over the counter things, most likely you have headaches. Although Excedrin Migraine is pretty good, but it only works for me if I catch it really early.

I feel bad for my kids because they do not understand that mommy has migraines and is in constant pain. I want to feel good again so that I can do fun things with them. I have basically forced myself to keep moving because no one else is here to do it. I wish I could pull the covers up over my head and sleep it off. On the good side, I have lost 5 pounds. I am so hoping that Topamax is the right medication for me.

Ya'all Said...

